Shoreline Master Program

Proposed Shoreline Master Program Amendments

On February 22, 2016, the Department of Ecology approved the County’s Shoreline Master Program (SMP). Subsequently, the Yakama Nation petitioned the Growth Management Hearings Board for review of the SMP, challenging the adequacy of the SMP’s provisions dealing with cultural, historical, and archeological resources. Kittitas County, the Department of Ecology, and the Yakama Nation have engaged in a series of settlement negotiations and have developed proposed SMP amendments that address the respective concerns of all parties and that meet or exceed the requirements of the Shoreline Management Act and other applicable regulations. The amendments include adoption of policies and regulations for identifying, protecting, and preserving cultural, archaeological, and historic resources. The proposed regulations establish notice and comment requirements for cultural resource review and criteria for archeological survey requirements. The amendments would also include additional definitions.

Kittitas County and the Department of Ecology are accepting comments on the proposed amendments. Public comment will be accepted from August 3, 2018 to September 4, 2018. A joint local/state public hearing is set for August 28, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. at the Kittitas County Commissioner's Auditorium, 205 West 5th Avenue, Room 109, Ellensburg, WA. Public testimony will be accepted at the public hearing. Comments may be submitted to the county at or 411 N Ruby ST, Suite 2, Ellensburg WA 98926. Comments sent to the county will be forwarded to the Department of Ecology. The proposed amendments may be viewed below.

Department of Ecology Approves Shoreline Master Program

On February 22, 2016 the Department of Ecology approved the County's updated Shoreline Master Program. The effective date of the Shoreline Master Program is March 7, 2016. The Shoreline Master Program and related shoreline environmental designation maps can be downloaded below.

Board of County Commissioners Approves Shoreline Master Program

The Kittitas County Board of County Commissioners approved the County's updated Shoreline Master Program (SMP) on December 2, 2014. The SMP Resolution and related exhibits can be downloaded here. As required by WAC 173-26-110, the updated SMP policies and regulations must be submitted to the Department of Ecology for review and approval before they become effective, a process which may result in revisions to the SMP. For more information regarding Ecology's review, please see WAC 173-26-120.

Regional Shoreline Master Program Update

Required by law

The Washington State Shoreline Management Act (RCW 90.58) and its associated rules (WAC 173-26) require local governments adopt shoreline master programs (SMPs) with policies and regulations that apply to development near shorelines.


The Kittitas County SMP was adopted in 1975. The City of Ellensburg, City of Cle Elum, and Town of South Cle Elum (all of which have shorelines) never adopted their own master programs. Instead, they have relied on the Kittitas County SMP.


The Washington State Legislature provided grant funding through the Washington Department of Ecology for local governments to update their shoreline master programs. Kittitas County, Ellensburg, Cle Elum and South Cle Elum decided to work together on a regional SMP update using grant funding from Ecology to create a separate Shoreline Master Programs (SMP) for each jurisdiction.

The participating jurisdictions entered into an Interlocal Agreement under the authority of the Interlocal Cooperation Act and agreed on a Public Participation Program (PPP). Links to supporting documents are provided below:

Interlocal Agreement

SMA Grant Agreement

Public Participation Program

Timeline for public participation

Where to find what you're looking for