205 W 5th Ave
Ellensburg, WA 98926-2887
Monday - Friday
8 AM - 5 PM
Kittitas (pronounced 'KITT-i-tass') County is located in central Washington
State. It spans from the lush forested Cascade Mountains to the upper Yakima River Valley plains and
the Columbia River.
Business Hours9am-5pm, M-F
You may purchase or renew your vehicle license tabs at our department or at our subagents.
Mitchell, Reed & Schmitten Insurance
803 W. First Street
Cle Elum, WA
Mon-Fri 9am-12:30pm and 1:30pm-5pm
504 E. Mountain View Ave, Suite 2
Ellensburg, WA 98922
The County Auditor acts as an agent of the Washington State Department of Licensing.
This responsibility not only encompasses sale of motor vehicle licenses and collection
of license fees and excise tax, but also transfer of vehicles from one owner to
another, title changes to add or delete a legal owner other that the registered
owner, collection of load fees on trucks and other transactions involving motor
vehicles. The auditor is also an agent for the Department of Revenue and collects
sales taxes on transfers of such vehicles made between individuals. In addition,
the auditor is responsible for water craft titling and registration.
Sign up to get your Renewal Reminders by email:
WA State Licensing: Get your renewal reminders
Washington State Department of Licensing
In Person - At the Courthouse
Busiest times of the month are the first and last weeks. Busiest times of the day
are 12:00 to 2:00PM. If you want to avoid lines, mail in your vehicle and vessel
renewals or renew online. We usually have a two day turn around (remember the first
and end of the month are busy).
Please Note: You have 15 days to transfer a vehicle into your name.
On the 16th day monetary penalties begin to accrue.
Bring in the title with interest released, odometer disclosure statement, signed
by both buyer and seller is required for vehicles less than 9 years old. Use tax
on vehicles in Kittitas County is 8%; inside city limits Ellensburg is 8.2%. Additional information may be required.
If you are the seller- remember to file a Report of Sale. Available on-line or in the office ($8.75 fee). Vehicle report of sale
Washington State no longer mails out renewal notices for boats. You can
sign up to receive renewal
notices via email
Mandatory Boater Education information can be found here.
You can purchase a Discover Pass when you renew your registration. If you purchase
a pass through the renewal process, the pass is mailed to you and takes about 2
weeks to receive. Discover Pass can now be used for 2 vehicles- the pass is valid
for one year from date of purchase.
Annual Pass: $30.00 ($35.00 if purchased at a license dealer)
One-day pass: $10.00 ($11.50 if purchased at a license dealer)
Visit Washington State Discover Pass for more information: Discover Pass (processing and dealer
fee may apply)
Now available at subagent (additional subagent fees apply).
The disabled person must be on our records as one of the registered owners of the
vehicle in order to receive the plates.
Only the following disabilities are allowed by law:
You may receive an application by calling the State at 1-800-642-5174 or by calling
the Kittitas County Auditor’s Office, Auto Licensing Department.
Once your application is approved, you may apply for disabled person license plates
and /or placard at our office. The license plate costs $7.75. We must have your
current vehicle registration to issue plates. The license plates will be mailed
to you. The placards are no charge.
License plates may be transferred to another vehicle owned by you. If you sell the
vehicle, the license plates must be transferred to a replacement vehicle or surrendered
to your local county auditor, vehicle licensing subagent or the Department of Licensing
in Olympia. If you have further questions please call us at (509) 962-7505.
You may request refueling services at gasoline stations for the self-service price
if no accompanying passenger is capable of fueling the vehicle for you. Stations
exclusively self-service and convenience stores with remotely controlled gas pumps
are not required to provide this service. You may park, free of charge for unlimited
periods of time, in parking zones or areas with parking meters which are otherwise
restricted as to the length of parking time.
Please Note: Local jurisdictions may impose time restrictions on the use
of on-street parking spaces reserved for disabled persons.
Parking is not permitted in areas where stopping, parking, or standing of all vehicles
is prohibited or reserved for special types of vehicles (fire lanes, loading zones,
If parking placard or special license plate is lost, stolen, mutilated or destroyed,
a replacement must be requested in writing from the disabled person of record.
Submit a replacement plate fee of $24 for passenger vehicle or truck plates; $12
for motorcycles; there is no charge for replacement placards(s).
Permanent disabled person parking privileges are to be renewed every five (5) years.
Temporary privileges are renewed every six (6) months, maximum, and require a new
application, including a Physician’s Certificate.
Kittitas County has a total area of 2,333 square miles. The highest point in the county is Mount Daniel at 7,959 feet above sea level.