Press Release
Community Development Services


Burn Ban

Kittitas County, WA - 06/25/2019 - Burn ban for unincorporated areas

The Kittitas County Fire Marshal has implemented a burn ban for the following zones in unincorporated Kittitas County:
Zone 1 – Kittitas Valley Fire and Rescue and Fire District 4
Zone 2 – Fire District 1 (Thorp)
Zone 3 – Fire District 3 (Easton) , Fire District 6 (Ronald), and Fire District 7 (Cle Elum area).

The burn ban includes open burning and recreational fires.

Each fire district may set conditions or modify their burn ban.  Check with your local fire district or the Kittitas County Fire Marshal's Office website to determine the burn ban status in your area.


Open Burning.  The burning of materials wherein products of combustion are emitted directly into the ambient air without passing through a stack or chimney from an enclosed chamber, and is not defined within the parameters of a recreational fire. 
Recreational Fires. Outdoor burning of materials other than rubbish where the fuel being burned is contained in an incinerator, outdoor fireplace, chimera, barbeque grill or barbeque pit and has a total fuel area of 3 feet (914mm) or less in diameter and 2 feet (610mm) or less in height, used for pleasure, religious, ceremonial, cooking, warmth or similar purposes.
This burn ban will be in effect as of 12:00 AM on Friday, June 28th, 2019.


Kittitas County, from the Cascades to the Columbia, and online at


Contact: Patrick Nicholson, Fire Marshal