## COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON COMMISSIONERS AUDITORIUM SPECIAL MEETING

WEDNESDAY 9:00 A.M. JULY 20, 2016

Board members present: Chairman Obie O'Brien and Commissioner Laura Osiadacz. Excused: Vice-Chairman Paul Jewell.

Others: Mandy Buchholz, Deputy Clerk of the Board; Clay Myers, Undersheriff; Josh Hink, Interim Fire Marshal; Mickey Webb, Event Center Director; Jerry Pettit, Auditor; Val Barschaw, Clerk; Michelle Capp, District Ranger; Michael Starkovich, Forester Dist. Fire Management Officer; Jason Seldal, USFS and one member of the public.

## SPECIAL MEETING PRE-SEASON FIRE MEETING COMMISSIONERS

At 9:03 a.m. Chairman O'Brien opened a Special Meeting to meet with Michelle Capp, Dist. Ranger for the United States Forest Service (USFS).

Michelle Capp, Dist. Ranger for the USFS explained that the meeting was requested to help with pre-planning for fire season and how the USFS and the County can best work together.

Clay Myers, Undersheriff explained the County's Emergency Operations Center (E.O.C), process and frequency of briefings as well as who is involved. He stated that the County has always had exceptional support from the USFS and its liaisons.

Michael Starkovich, Forester Dist. Fire Management Officer & Ms. Capp reviewed the National Strategy materials that the USFS provided, National Action Plan, the Central Washington Fire Danger Operating Plan (2015), the draft prevention operating plan 2016, and the USDA approved & non-approved fire guidelines.

There was brief discussion regarding the Okanogan-Wenatchee NF, 2016 fire prevention operation plan. Mr. Starkovich explained that they like to use the Central WA Fire Danger Operating Plan as it is science based and helps to take the emotion out of decision making.

2016-07-20 MINUTES



Ms. Capp thanked the County for their financial support to keep the visitor center staffed on the weekends and shared that there was a lot of foot traffic in the first weekend it was open. The meeting was adjourned at 9:51 a.m.

DEPUTY CLERK OF THE BOARD

KITTITAS COUNTY COMMISSIONERS KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON

Mandy Buchholz

Obie O'Brien, Chairman