Press Release
Community Development Services


The Burn Ban and Fireworks

Kittitas County, WA - 06/28/2018 - The Burn Ban and Fireworks

There has been a lot of concern related to the Burn Ban and Fireworks. The Kittitas County Fire Marshal’s office has released the following information related to the two. The Burn Ban is separate in itself from the codes that restrict fireworks. However, they are also related. The Burn Ban this year will begin on Friday June 29th at midnight through roughly the end of September. This is for the entire county.
Washington state law RCW 70.77.395 allows for the discharge of fireworks on specific days with specific times. Counties are then allowed to adopt laws that are more restrictive, but never less restrictive. Kittitas County decided in 1999 to have more stringent laws and only allow the discharge of fireworks on the 4th of July, as stated in the county code below. Any deviations from this code in the past may have been in error. Because the Kittitas County Fire Marshal is required to uphold the codes as set forth by the County Commissioners, there leaves no room for interpretation by the Fire Marshal. The word “prohibits” says it all. See below.

9.30.030 Prohibition against discharge. 
The county of Kittitas prohibits the ignition or discharge of fireworks within the unincorporated areas of Kittitas County except between the period from 9:00 a.m. to 11:59 p.m. on July 4th and from 9:00 a.m. December 31st to 1:00 a.m. of the following day (January 1st) of each year. (Ord. 99-09, 1999; Ord. 956, 1995).

Cle Elum, Roslyn, Ellensburg, and Kittitas are incorporated.
9.30.070 Penalty. 
Any person violating the provisions of this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be punished by a fine of not more than $1,000 and by imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment. (Ord. 99-09, 1999; Ord. 95-6, 1995).


Kittitas County, from the Cascades to the Columbia, and online at