BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COUNTY OF KITTITAS STATE OF WASHINGTON

RESOLUTION NO. 2017- 153

RESOLUTION DECLARING KITTITAS COUNTY BOARDS, COMMITTEES, AND COMMISSIONS OPERATING UNDER THE DIRECTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SUBJECT TO THE OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT REQUIREMENTS

- WHEREAS, pursuant to Chapter 42.30 RCW, meetings of governing bodies of public agencies must be open to the public; and
- WHEREAS, the governing body of Kittitas County, the Board of County Commissioners, has in accordance with state and local laws, appointed and or created numerous boards, committees, and commissions to aid in the transaction of County business; and
- WHEREAS, it is not always clear under the law, which of those boards, committees, and commissions are subject to the Open Public Meetings Act; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Open Public Meetings Act is constantly evolving through case law and legislative action; and
- WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners desires to uphold the requirements of the Open Public Meetings Act without undue burden or confusion as to the application of the Act, the Board finds that it is in the best interest of the County to declare the County boards, committees, and commissions operating under their direction, excluding any internal boards, committees, and commissions consisting only of County employees and not otherwise subject to the Open Public Meetings Act based on their own roles and duties, subject to the Open Public Meetings Act
- NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of County Commissioners of Kittitas County, Washington, hereby declares that Kittitas County boards, committees, and commissions operating under their direction, but excluding internal staff only boards, committees, and commissions, are subject to the requirements of the Open Public Meetings Act.

DATED this 19th day of September, 2017, at Ellensburg, Washington.



BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS KITITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON

Paul Jewell, Chairman

Laura Osiadacz, Vice-Chairman

Obie O'Brien, Commissioner

ATTEST:

☐ Clerk of the Board- Julie Kjorsvík

Deputy Clerk of the Board- Mandy Buchholz