## BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COUNTY OF KITTITAS STATE OF WASHINGTON

## **RESOLUTION NO. 2017-***088*

## A RESOLUTION MERGING THE FIRE MARSHAL'S OFFICE INTO COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT SERVICES

- **WHEREAS,** Kittitas County strives to provide quality, innovative, and efficient services to the citizens of the County; and
- WHEREAS, RCW 36.32 authorizes the Kittitas County Board of County Commissioners to operate certain departments, including Community Development Services and the Fire Marshal; and
- WHEREAS, The Fire Marshal's office is responsible for fire investigations, fire and life safety inspections, construction plan review and inspections, Wildland Urban Interface Code compliance, coordination with fire districts, and public education; and
- WHEREAS, The Fire Marshal's office currently only has one employee to accomplish these tasks; and
- WHEREAS, Community Development Services is responsible for similar activities such as plan review and inspections, and can provide administrative support for the Fire Marshal; and
- **WHEREAS,** Kittitas County continues to realize population growth, and these departments will continue to experience increased service demands; and
- WHEREAS, The Board of County Commissioners has conducted research and explored operational options in order to examine the benefits of merging the Fire Marshal into Community Development Services; and
- WHEREAS, Merger of the Fire Marshal's office into Community Development Services will provide for a streamlined and efficient organizational structure in order to maximize resources and provide the most efficient services to the citizens of Kittitas County.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED AND IT IS HEREBY ORDERED,** that the Fire Marshal's office is hereby merged into and placed under Community Development Services, effective June 1, 2017:

ADOPTED this 16th c	day of, 2017
	BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS KITTHTAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON
	an
	Paul Jewell, Chairman
COUNTY COMMISSION OF THE PARTY	Laura Osiadacz, Vice-Chairman
Sioner Sioner	Öbie O'Brien, Commissioner
CLERK OF THE BOARD	APPROVED AS TO FORM:
Julie A. Kjorsvik	Neil Caulkins,
	Deputy Prosecuting Attorney