KITTITAS COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS

AGENDA STAFF REPORT

AGENDA DATE:

May 5, 2015

ACTION REQUESTED:

To sign a proclamation designating the week of

May 17-23, 2015 as "Public Works Week."

BACKGROUND:

The week of May 17-23, 2015 is national Public

Works Week. By participating in this

pronouncement, the county calls attention to all Public Works employees in Kittitas County, including county, state and city workers, and recognizes their contributions in providing

facilities and services to the public.

INTERACTION:

Kittitas County Public Works

RECOMMENDATION:

Move to sign the proclamation declaring May

17-23, 2015 as "Public Works Week."

HANDLING:

Return one original to Public Works

ATTACHMENTS:

Proclamation

LEAD STAFF:

Kathy Jurgens

Interim Public Works Director

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COUNTY OF KITTITAS STATE OF WASHINGTON

PROCLAMATION

PROCLAIMING THE WEEK OF MAY 17-23, 2015 AS PUBLIC WORKS WEEK

WHEREAS: The week of May 17-23, 2015 is national Public Works Week, sponsored by the

American Public Works Association; and

WHEREAS: Kittitas County Public Works, in coordination with the City of Ellensburg and other

local agencies, participates in the "Touch-a-Truck" outreach program to share our various missions that provide the essential public services to our citizens; and

WHEREAS: It is in the public interest for the citizens, civic leaders and children in the United

States of America to gain knowledge of and to maintain an interest and

understanding of the importance of public works and public works programs in

their respective communities; and

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Kittitas County Board of County Commissioners do hereby proclaim the week of May 17-23, 2015 as Public Works Week, and urge all citizens to recognize our public employees, and to recognize the substantial contributions they have made to our national health, safety, welfare and quality of life.

SIGNED this 5th day of May, 2015.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS KITTIMAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON

Gary Berndt, Chairman

Obie O'Brien, Vice-Chairman

Paul Jewell, Commissioner