Kittitas County Boards and Committees

Board of Health

Five members
Authority: RCW 70.05.060


1. Dr. Asriel 11/30/2020 3 Year Term
2. Rich Elliott 09/01/2019 3 Year Term
3. County Commissioner, Paul Jewell, District 1 12/31/2020
4. County Commissioner, Chair, Obie O'Brien, District 3 12/31/2018
5. County Commissioner, Laura Osiadacz, District 2 12/31/2020

Public Health Director, 962-7515
* Commissioners serve their full term of election.

The mission of the Kittitas County Board of Health is 'to protect and promote the health and the environment of the people of Kittitas County.' Each local Board of Health shall have supervision over all matters pertaining to the preservation of the life and health of the people within its jurisdiction. The Board shall also provide for the control and prevention of any dangerous, contagious or infectious disease within the jurisdiction of the local health department, and provide for the prevention, control and abatement of nuisances detrimental to the public health. The Board will supervise the maintenance of all health and sanitary measures for the protection of the public health within its jurisdiction. The Board must also make such reports to the state board of health through the local health officer or the administrative officer as the state board of health may require, and establish fee schedules for issuing or renewing licenses or permits or for such other services as are authorized by the law and the rules of the state board of health, provided that such fees for services shall not exceed the actual cost of providing any such services. The Board is further responsible for the enforcement through the local health officer or the administrative officer of the public health statutes of the state and rules promulgated by the state board of health and the secretary of health. The Board meets on the third Thursday every month at 10:00 A.M. in the Commissioners Auditorium, in the Lower County Courthouse.