COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON CONFERENCE ROOM/WEBEX SPECIAL MEETING

FRIDAY 1:30 P.M NOVEMBER 5, 2021

Board members present: Chairman Brett Wachsmith, Vice-Chairman Laura Osiadacz, and Commissioner Cory Wright.

Others: Julie Kjorsvik, Clerk of the Board; Jerry Pettit, Auditor; Taylor Crouch, Administrative Assistant; Carly Brettmann, Communications Director; Jesse Potts, GIS Analyst; Sue Higginbotham, Chief Administrator; Jason Eklund, GIS Coordinator; and 1 member of the public.

SPECIAL MEETING REDISTRICTING COMMISSIONERS

At 1:30 p.m. Chairman Wachsmith opened a Special Meeting to discuss the redistricting process.

Jerry Pettit, Auditor, explained how the County needed to have a plan developed for redistricting by the end of December. He said it doesn't have to be officially approved by that time, but a plan must be developed. He explained how he would be working with Sue Higginbotham to review the precincts and Commissioner District boundary lines. They will then present that information to a Redistricting Advisory Committee as well as identify the laws, WAC's, etc. for their consideration. Once the committee has reviewed and formed their recommendations, they will present that information to the Commissioners. He said at this time, it looks like District #2 has had the most growth in population; District #1 is close to being the same; and District #3 is less than average. Jason Eklund, GIS Coordinator, said he would be willing to provide any maps needed.

RESOLUTION 2021-169 REDISTRICTING ADVISORY COMMITTEE COMMISSIONERS

Vice-Chairman Osiadacz moved to approve Resolution No. 2021-169, Forming a Commissioner Redistricting Advisory Committee. Commissioner Wright seconded. Motion carried 3-0.

RESOLUTION 2021-170 REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE OPMA COMMISSIONERS

Vice-Chairman Osiadacz moved to approve Resolution No. 2021-170, Relieving the Commissioner Redistricting Advisory Committee of Locally Imposed OPMA Requirements. Commissioner Wright seconded. Motion carried 3-0.



Meeting adjourned at 1:46 p.m.

CLERK OF THE BOARD

Julie Kjorsvik

KITTITAS COUNTY COMMISSIONERS KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON

Brett Wachsmith, Chairman