## KITTITAS COUNTY CDS STUDY SESSION MINUTES COMMISSIONERS' AUDITORIUM, 205 WEST 5TH ROOM 109 - ELLENSBURG Regular Meeting

MONDAY 1:30 PM February 12, 2018

Board members present: Chairman Laura Osiadacz, Vice-Chairman Obie O'Brien, and Commissioner Paul Jewell

Others: Dan Carlson, Mike Flory, Stephanie Mifflin (CDS), Mark Cook, Candie Leader (PW) Neil Caulkins (PA)

Meeting was called to order at 1:30 P.M.

## Discussion Regarding Wood Stoves and Energy Code

Dan Carlson stated there was an inquiry from Dave Craft regarding wood stove requirements related to the energy code. Dan stated there have been a number of emails exchanged about insulation requirements. Dan referenced the documents sent to the Board and stated that the Building Official interpreted the code to read that a wood stove would not fall under these requirements.

Commissioner Jewell stated the Building Official's interpretation is more flexible and lest costly to an applicant. The Board agreed with the Building Official's interpretation, and no further action is required.

## 2018 Fee Proposal

Dan introduced the 2018 proposed fees based on the fee model that was adopted by Community Development Services. Dan reviewed the attached documents with the Board.

## Executive Session

At 2:54 p.m. Commissioner Osiadacz opened an executive session and announced the Board would recess into Executive session for five (5) minutes to discuss with legal counsel representing the agency matters relating to agency enforcement actions, or to discuss with legal counsel representing the agency litigation or potential litigation to which the agency, the governing body, or a member acting in an official capacity is, or is likely to become, a party, when public knowledge regarding the discussion is likely to result in an adverse legal or financial consequence to the agency. No action anticipated.

At 2:59 p.m. the Board reconvened out of Executive Session. No action was taken or given.



KITTITAS COUNTY
COMMISSIONERS
KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON

Stephanie Mifflin, Clerk

Laura Osiadacz, Chairman