PROCLAMATION



"National County Government Month" April 2015

"Counties Moving America Forward: The Keys are Transportation and Infrastructure"

WHEREAS, the nation's 3,069 counties serving more than 300 million Americans provide essential services to create healthy, safe, vibrant and economically resilient communities; and

WHEREAS, counties move America forward by building infrastructure, maintaining roads and bridges, providing health care, administering justice, keeping communities safe, running elections, managing solid waste, keeping records and much more; and

WHEREAS, Kittitas County and all counties take pride in their responsibility to protect and enhance the health, welfare and safety of its residents in efficient and cost-effective ways; and

WHEREAS, through National Association of Counties President Riki Hokama's "Transportation and Infrastructure" initiative, NACo is encouraging counties to focus on how they have improved their communities through road projects, new bridges, building new facilities, water and sewer improvements and other public works activities; and

WHEREAS, in order to remain healthy, vibrant, safe, and economically competitive, America's counties provide transportation and infrastructure services that play a key role in everything from residents' daily commutes to shipping goods around the world; and

WHEREAS, each year since 1991 the National Association of Counties has encouraged counties across the country to actively promote their own programs and services to the public they serve; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE KITTITAS COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, do hereby proclaim April 2015 as National County Government Month and encourage all county officials, employees, schools and residents to participate in county government celebration activities.

Proclaimed this 17th day of March, 2015.

SEAL Autosta Sta Minninummuning

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON

Gary Berndt, Chairman

O'Brien, Vice-Chairman

Paul Jewell, Commissioner

Julie Kjorsvik, Clerk of the Board