## PROCLAMATION

## May 10, 2017

"Roslyn's No.1 Mine: Coal Miner's Remembrance Day"



On May 10, 1892 the worst mine disaster in Washington state history occurred at Roslyn's No. 1 Mine; and WHEREAS:

The coroner found the deceased miners came to their death by the explosion of fire damp in Mine No.1; and WHEREAS:

Said explosion was caused by deficient ventilation; and WHEREAS:

Forty-five men lost their lives at Roslyn's No. 1 Mine. These miner's include: Joseph Bennett, Dominic WHEREAS:

Bianco, John Bone, Thomas Brennan, George Brooks, Joseph Browitt, Henry Campbell, Tobias Cooper, Joseph Cusworth Sr., Joseph Cusworth Jr., Phillip D. Davis, Herman Daister, Andrew Erlandson, George Forsythe, Richard Forsythe, John Foster, Scott Giles, Robert Graham, Mitchell Hale, Frank Hannah, James Hewitson, William Hague, John Hodgson, Thomas Holmes, James Morgan, Elisha Jackson, John D. Lewis, John Mattias, John Lafferty, Daniel McLellan, George Moses, Benjamin Ostliff, William Penhall, William Palmer, Leslie Pollard, David Rees, Thomas Rees, William Robinson, Mitchell Ronald, Preston Loving,

Robert Spotts, Winyard Steele, Jacob Weatherly, G.W. Williams, Sydney Wright; and

WHEREAS: Thirty women were left widowed, and ninety children were left fatherless as a result of the explosion at

Roslyn's No.1 Mine; and

These men and their families came from diverse cultures each in pursuit of the American dream; and WHEREAS:

Many of the descendants to the miners who died on this tragic day continue to live in Kittitas County; and WHEREAS:

The 125th anniversary to this event is May 10, 2017; and WHEREAS:

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED: The Kittitas County Board of Commissioners declare Wednesday May 10, 2017 as "Roslyn's No. 1 Mine: Coal Miner's Remembrance Day" in Kittitas County, Washington.

SEA COUNTY WA O THE STORY OF THE STATE OF THE ADORTOD Hits 2nd day of May, 2017.

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Paul Jewell, Chairman

THE KITTEFAS COUNTY

Laura Osiadacz, Vice-Chairman

Obie O'Brien, Commissioner

Julie Kjorsvik, Clerk of the Board - Depute